What’s in my makeup bag?

 

Anyone who knows me will know I am a makeup addict. My Mac lipstick collection is ever growing and shows no signs of stopping! Although I do use Mac and Urban Decay (I love them both so much) as a student it isn’t always possible to afford these things. I wanted to share with you the cheaper options that I use daily.

BB Cream:

As a base, I always use Rimmel’s tinted matte BB cream in light (despite my skin being more olive coloured, this shade is actually dark enough for me). What I love about this BB cream is that it gives a really good coverage even as a base- it evens out my skin tone perfectly. It’s also light weight and some days I use this on its own and I feel so fresh and non-cakey. You can buy it from Boots for £6.99 and it lasts a long time- I have had mine for almost 3 months and it still hasn’t run out, despite me using it every day!

Makeup 2

Foundation:

Despite loving my Urban Decay Naked foundation, my student loan doesn’t allow me to stretch to paying £28.50. Therefore, I use my Rimmel Match Perfection in shade 102 light nude. I do, however, change the shade depending on the season as I am always darker in the summer, especially if I go abroad. This foundation is really good and lasts all day however it can feel a bit cakey if you put a bit too much on, so there are days when I decide not to use it. But, it is only £7.99 from Boots.

Concealer:

I normally use concealer under my eyes and to hide any blemishes and spots I have. Recently I have started using NYX HD Studio Photogenic either in 03 or 04. I do love this concealer as a cheap alternative to my Mac obsession and I have become a NYX convert but I can’t help but compare it with my Mac pro longwear concealer and it just isn’t as good. Truthfully I can’t expect the same coverage and it is still good value for money, it is only £5.50 a bottle after all.

Eyebrows:

For my eyebrows I also use NYX. I use Micro Brow pencilthe  in Brunette (I do also use Auburn if I want a less noticeable finish). When I first bought it I was a little disappointed with the flimsy pencil and lid but I was converted when I started using it! It is retractable and therefore no need to sharpen it and as well the pen is really thin, allowing for precision. There is also a built-in brush to tame them and smudge the pencil lines in. I buy mine for only £7.00.

Liquid eyeliner:

I normally use Seventeen’s High Drama intense liquid eyeliner and I love it. I have used it for years and have nothing but praise for it. The applicator wand is thin and so easy to use and get the perfect flick every time. I would 100% recommend it. But despite my love, it seems to have been discontinued (*cries*). It seems I will have to slowly get through my last pot before I venture to my local boots store to try a new one that will live up to my love for this one.

Mascara:

As for mascara, I normally jump from brand to brand, not really finding one I particularly love. However, I am currently using No7 Lash impact (£13.50 at Boots). I got this as a Christmas present from my parents and I was very impressed with it. It gives your lashes a lovely, natural length and never looks spidery, as many can do. This is definitely on my list of recommendations.

Contour and highlight:

NYX is again coming out on top with their Professional Makeup Highlight and Contour Pro palette which is just £18 for 8 different shades! Not only that but it is refillable meaning you don’t have to buy the whole thing again if you run low on only one or two shades ( there are also more than 8 shades available online!) It is definitely worth the money and I love the range of colours available!

Makeup 8

Finished look:

Makeup

I hope there are some cheap options here that you guys would like to try out. Also, if there’s anything you want to recommend, please feel free to comment!

Love Laura xx

3 thoughts on “What’s in my makeup bag?

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

